I long for a church where…

9781433544651

Mack Stiles:

I long for a church that understands that it—the local church—is the chosen and best method of evangelism. I long for a church where the Christians are so in love with Jesus that when they go about the regular time of worship, they become an image of the gospel. I long for a church that disarms with love, not entertainment, and lives out countercultural confidence in the power of the gospel. I long for a church where the greatest celebrations happen over those who share their faith, and the heroes are those who risk their reputations to evangelize.

I yearn for a culture of evangelism with brothers and sisters whose backs are up to mine in the battle, where I’m taught and I teach about what it means to share our faith; and where I see leaders in the church leading people to Jesus. I want a church where you can point to changed lives, where you can see people stand up and say, ‘When I came to this church two years ago, I didn’t know God, but now I do!’ I long to be part of a culture of evangelism like that. I bet you do, too.

Mack Stiles, Evangelism: How the Whole Church Speaks of Jesus

(HT: Tim Challies)

I am currently serving churches and colleges as a bible teacher, overseas and in the UK.

One thought on “I long for a church where…

  1. Living Life in 3D

    Live life in 3D
    Develop friendship.
    Interacting is the key
    With folk outside the Fellowship
    In the web of contacts as we walk
    Around the Town or down to school;
    People at work with whom we talk;
    Our opportunities: we have a pool.
    Discover their story
    Patiently listening, (attending, absorbing)
    To their history,
    Their interests, family, fears,
    Not avoiding as if ‘they have germs’!
    Enfold your neighbours, colleagues, peers.
    Establish contacts on first name terms.
    Then you share that favourite text
    With the Spirit’s direction
    As you discern what comes next,
    Sharing your faith with more conviction.

    Walk Across The Room Too”

    Now don’t stand there
    Dithering, or ignoring or talking
    To family or friends unaware
    Of strangers, or those visiting.
    ‘Walk across the room’, say ‘Hello’
    To people you may not know.
    For them it would be nice
    If you boldly break the ice.
    Give the warmth of your smile.
    Share your ‘story’ or just a little conversation.
    Who knows, it could be a link in their salvation.
    Push yourself, go that second mile.
    And for those folks in the street
    Workmates we see or maybe meet
    ‘Walk across the room’, pray, and find a way
    To share God’s love with some one today…….. 

Leave a Reply

